Believers vs. Researchers

Alex Khaerov
1 min readJul 15, 2024

--

In recent years, I’ve noticed an interesting trend in how people approach problems and form opinions. It seems that individuals are increasingly falling into one of two categories: the “believers” and the “researchers.”

Proudly displaying ‘Trust me, I’m an engineer’ pin on my backpack.

The Believers

These are the folks who often say, “I feel” or “I sense.” They rely heavily on intuition and personal experiences to shape their worldview. Their approach is more emotional and gut-driven.

The Researchers

On the other hand, we have those who prefer to investigate, study, measure, and draw conclusions based on empirical evidence. They take a more analytical approach to understanding the world around them.

What’s particularly intriguing is that I’ve observed a growing tendency for significant issues to be viewed through the lens of “I feel” rather than “I know.” This shift towards emotional reasoning in tackling complex problems is becoming more prevalent across various domains.

“Trust me, I’m an engineer”. Alex Khaerov writes about his engineering life in this unpredictable, turbulent era.

--

--

Alex Khaerov

more at https://hayorov.me Thoughts here are my own and don’t necessarily represent my employer.